Resources

General Resources

BJP: British Journal of Photography: https://www.1854.photography/

Canadian Association of Professional Image Creators: https://capic.org/

Gallery 44 Centre for Contemporary Photography: https://www.gallery44.org/

Jake Stangel’s All The Things You Need To Know To Assist video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtiYww3hYzA

NPAC: https://npac.ca/

PetaPixel: https://petapixel.com/

Photoshelter blog: https://blog.photoshelter.com/

Photoshelter podcast: https://resources.photoshelter.com/vision-slightly-blurred/

Rangefinder Magazine online: https://www.rangefinderonline.com/

The Messy Truth – Conversations on Photography: https://play.acast.com/s/themessytruth


BIPOC Resources

Authority Collective https://authoritycollective.org/

Authority Collective/Photoshelter Guide to Inclusive Photography: https://resources.photoshelter.com/photographers-guide-inclusive-photography/

Authority Collective Resources and Beyond for Anti-Racism: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1JI-nF62WmPBVJjsyGm2Qa7Vrwgno0wXWDh2W2TBJUSU/edit

Black Creatives Toronto: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/10gfNyXBtlNiv2TTQgNFj4rbcJfOCMtrb7eN1xhJXhgQ/edit#gid=0

Black Taxi: https://www.agency.taxi/blacktaxi

Collective Culture: https://www.collectiveculture.ca/

Diversify Photo: https://diversify.photo/

Everyday Projects: https://www.everydayprojects.org/

Hire BIPOC: https://www.hirebipoc.ca/

Hire Higher https://www.hirehigher.ca/

Indigenous Photograph: https://indigenousphotograph.com/

Nia Centre for the Arts: https://niacentre.org/

Photo Bill of Rights: https://www.photobillofrights.com/

Room Upfront: https://www.roomupfront.ca/

The Black Shutter Podcast: https://blackshutterpodcast.com/


Business Resources

Canadian Freelance Union: https://www.canadianfreelanceunion.ca/

CAPIC Commercial job quotes: https://capic.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/CAPIC-LFSR-2019-11-web.png

Diversify Photo Pay Equity Project: https://diversify.photo/pay-equity-project/

Getty Image Calculator: https://www.gettyimages.ca/purchase/price-calculator/sb10069475ab-001

NPPA Cost of doing business calculator: https://nppa.org/calculator


Mentoring Resources

Mentoring Underrepresented Minority Students When You are White: https://www.insidehighered.com/advice/2020/01/13/advice-mentoring-underrepresented-minority-students-when-you-are-white-opinion

NIA mentorship toolkit:

niacentre.org/content/uploads/2020/02/Black-Creatives-x-Mentorship-Toolkit-2019-Digital.pdf

Photoshelter's Mentorship guide: https://resources.photoshelter.com/photography-mentorship-guide/


Ethics Resources

NPPA Code of Ethics: https://nppa.org/code-ethics

Photo Ethics Podcast: https://www.photoethics.org/podcast

Photojournalism: An Ethical Approach: http://paulmartinlester.info/writings/pjethics.html

Seattle Times Guidelines for Inclusive Journalism: https://company.seattletimes.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/Seattle-Times-diversity-guidelines.pdf

Society of Professional Journalists Ethics Code https://www.spj.org/ethicscode.asp

The BINGO: Reporting in Indian Country Edition (a tool to identify a reliance on tropes or stereotypes) https://najanewsroom.com/bingo-card/


Further Reading

National Geographic’s November cover falls back on a racist cliché: https://www.vox.com/identities/2018/11/1/18036682/national-geographic-november-cover-racist-cowboy-indian-cliche

Photojournalism lacks self-criticism and only the underdogs are willing to reshape its toxic culture: https://medium.com/@lolabe/photojournalism-lacks-self-criticism-and-only-the-underdogs-are-willing-to-reshape-its-toxic-c85605f4df58

Re-Picture: https://medium.com/re-picture

‘Respect the Feathers’: Who Tells Standing Rock’s Story?: https://www.nytimes.com/2016/12/16/movies/standing-rock-sioux-tribe-filmmakers.html

Why aren't there any famous Asian American Photographers?: https://aperture.org/editorial/complexities-asian-american-photography/